Home > Games, Reviews > Modern Warfare 3 Retrospective

Modern Warfare 3 Retrospective

Alright, it’s been about 4 months since Infinity Ward’s Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 hit the shelves. I’ve already done a review of the game via my typical process, but I thought it would be a good idea to write a retrospective article to shed some light on longevity rather than impressions acquired over just a few weeks of play. That, and I wanted to point out a few things that I neglected to mention in the first one. Let’s get started.

I still play it, and it’s still fun, though my frequency of play has tapered off some, as would be expected. I’m a little disappointed at how often I run into cheaters of various varieties, but I guess that’s to be expected with a game with this kind of public profile, and I hear they’re working on it. It’s nice that they’re easy to spot with kill-cams, though. Also annoying are some lag, and troubles with the spawning system, like appearing too close to enemies – I expected better from Infinity Ward, but it’s nowhere near the atrocities committed by Call of Duty: Black Ops. Community playlists and downloadable content together keep the game fresh whether you choose to pay extra or not. In general, despite some hiccups, MW3 is still enjoyable and will likely stay that way up until another game grabs more of my time.

To end on a high note, the soundtrack by Brian Tyler is fantastic. Like many out there, I was a little worried when I learned that Hans Zimmer and Lorne Balfe would not be returning to improve on their wondrous compositions from the second game in the series. Lucky for me, Brian Tyler did an amazing job by pulling a little from previous games and bringing his own contributions to forge a masterful score. If you liked the soundtrack of MW2, you just might like this one even better. I’ll be watching to see what other music Brian Tyler creates.

What did you think of Modern Warfare 3? Has it aged well so far? Leave your thoughts in the comments and we can start some discussion.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

