Home > Games, Links, Reviews > VVVVVV Review

VVVVVV Review

September 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I recently picked up the Humble Indie Bundle 3 while it was available last August. It’s a great deal and a good way to support independent developers and charities. As part of the bundle, I received the popular, retro, gravity-twisting VVVVVV by Terry Cavanagh. The game is set some time in the distant future when space flight and teleportation are possible, and challenges players to rescue the members of their team that have been scattered across the game world.

VVVVVV can be loosely described a 2D platformer. I say that because, though it technically falls into that category, it is largely unlike the typical platformer design. The player is unable to jump, but may rather reverse gravity at any time, as long as he is on the, er… “ground.” The entire gameplay design revolves around this feature and the maker has done a great job of designing a variety of levels that challenge the player’s use of it in different ways. It uses a “learn by dying” mechanic that I’m not a big fan of, but it places you back in a safe spot immediately so your game experience is hardly interrupted. I should also mention that another of its high points is music – along with its visual and other design, the music is well done and wonderfully retro. It’s a little short for a full game and I finished it in about two hours, but especially as part of a bundle or other deal, it’s worth it. It’s definitely a rewarding and interesting experience, and I think you’ll find yourself happy you played it.

Let us know what you think of the game and the review in the comments!

Categories: Games, Links, Reviews Tags: , ,
  1. September 25, 2011 at 2:46 am

    I got this in the Humble Indie Bundle as well, haven’t finished it yet. The gravity-swap mechanic is pretty sweet, but I made the mistake of playing it a little bit (like, ten minutes!) then not booting it up for a few weeks, then having no idea what I was doing or where I was supposed to go.

    Love the graphics style though, takes me back to my early days on my Amiga 500+, and the chiptune/8-bit soundtrack is fab. Look forward to starting it again sometime when I’ve finished by games backlog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

