Home > Games, Reviews > Catching Up

Catching Up

It looks like I have a little catching up to do. To start with, if you haven’t heard that Valve Software’s Portal 2 is an excellent game, let me clear that up for you. Portal 2 is an excellent game. There are more cool puzzle elements, like light bridges and gel and such. It continues and expands the story, contains quality voice acting, has excellent music, and so on. I did notice that the “style” of the puzzle design was a little different, maybe even easier than the first game, but still enjoyable. If you’re on the fence, or if you enjoyed the original Portal, you’ll likely enjoy the sequel.

Next up, Alan Wake is a psychological action thriller by Remedy Entertainment. Why did no one tell me about this game? Simply put, the game is fantastic. When I played through the game, it was like a great book that I couldn’t put down. We need more games like this. It’s got mystery, suspense, intrigue, action. I can’t tell you much of the story without spoiling it for you, so I won’t. The storytelling is a high point for the game, doing one of the best jobs of it, if not the best job, I’ve seen in video games. This includes high talent in writing, voice acting, cut scenes and music. This comes with a special caveat, though: if you play this game without taking the time to take in the details and enjoy the story, you may be disappointed. My advice is to immerse yourself in it as much as you can; watch all of the cinematic cut scenes, listen to the music, follow the story and pay attention to every masterful detail. I think you’ll be glad you did.

What’s your take on Portal 2 and Alan Wake? Got some other fantastic games you think I should be playing and reviewing? Let us know in the comments!

Categories: Games, Reviews Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

