Home > Games, Reviews > World of Goo Review

World of Goo Review

I really should have reviewed World of Goo by 2D Boy when I first played it. Fortunately, I recently played through it again after purchasing it as part of the Humble Indie Bundle. So, here we go:

World of Goo is a unique puzzle game by 2D Boy in which the player is challenged with constructing various structures out of goo balls in order to solve puzzles and reach a goal. This can include anything from giant towers, to bridges, to (simple) flying machines, with many complicating elements to look out for, like deadly spinning gears, wind, and fire. I don’t think I’ve ever played anything else quite like World of Goo. Throughout the game, new types of goo balls with special and useful properties are introduced to the player, as are techniques for accomplishing certain tasks, which are used in combination as the difficulty slowly increases. Some of the puzzles are pretty tough, both in terms of figuring them out and, in some cases, actually performing the task once you’ve figured it out. It takes some determination during a few levels, and if you feel you just can’t figure it out, there is an option to skip up to a limited number of levels. The second time around, the game wasn’t quite as fun, but what do you expect from a puzzle game?

Kyle Gabler has done a fantastic job with the creative side of World of Goo, so much so that I feel it deserves its own paragraph. The art possesses a cute and charming quality, the brilliant music produces a sense of awe, and the writing has a quirky sense of humor. My only complaint here is that the beginning of the fourth chapter was a bit of a letdown after the end of the third, but I won’t spoil the details of that for you.

Overall, World of Goo is an excellent game, and I highly recommend it. I wrote this review based on my experience with the PC version, but I suspect the Wii version is about as much fun to play. I’ll be keeping my eye on what 2D Boy has in store for us next.

Don’t forget to rate, comment, and subscribe!

Categories: Games, Reviews Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

