Home > Games, Reviews > Launch of the Screaming Narwhal Review

Launch of the Screaming Narwhal Review

September 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Launch of the Screaming Narwhal is the first episode in Telltale Games‘ new Tales of Monkey Island adventure series. The player is given control of Guybrush Threepwood, the Mighty Pirate, during his swashbuckling adventures which involve all manner of piratey plot elements, such as cannons, voodoo, bombs, and… glass unicorns?

I haven’t been that big of a fan of the third-person adventure puzzle genre, and it’s still probably not one of my favorite types of game, but I did like this game in general. It has a great sense of humor to keep things fresh; the main character is fairly witty, but all of the contents of the game are filled with humor. I mean, what other game are you going to find where you try to cover a cutlass with root beer in order to enchant it and vanquish the evil demon/zombie pirate LeChuck? The puzzles in the game were, for the most part, reasonable in terms of difficulty. In some games of this type, when I encounter a particularly annoying and/or vague puzzle, I see the gameplay degrade until I eventually wander around the game world, randomly clicking on things. In Launch of the Screaming Narwhal, I didn’t find myself in that situation so much. One slight disappointment was that at the very start of the game, the setting is exciting and interesting, but shortly into the story, I was met with the usual slow atmosphere that most games of this genre display. By the end of the game though, I hoped a little that the game would be a bit longer, but it’s the first episode of a five-part series which is cheaper than most single new games, so I can’t really complain.

I never played any of the older Monkey Island games, so I may have missed any nostalgia that other players may enjoy. That aside though, Tales of Monkey Island is casual, silly fun. Nothing groundbreaking or exceptionally awesome so far, but fun.

Categories: Games, Reviews Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

