Home > Games, Interviews, Links > Interview with Phil Hassey

Interview with Phil Hassey

I recently got the chance to ask Phil Hassey a few questions. Phil is most well known as the creator of Galcon, a popular strategy game for iPhone, PC, Linux and Mac, but he has also created a number of other games as well, and runs and participates regularly in Ludum Dare competitions.

Q: Please introduce yourself, in whatever fashion you deem necessary.
I’m Phil Hassey, creator of Galcon!

Q: How did Galcon get started?
I’ve been re-making an old DOS game called “Galactic Conquest” for years. But about 3.5 years ago, I re-made it again for the Ludum Dare 48 hour gamedev contest, and that re-make seemed to really stick.

Q: Do you have any current projects, and will you give details? Description, release time frame – details, man!
Got an iPhone update to Galcon coming in August. That’s about all I can give for now!

Q: Do you have a creative process for coming up with new ideas for games?
I compete in game dev compos. Ludum Dare and PyWeek are the two I’ve been in frequently. Often times I end up doing a variant of a game idea that has been sitting in my head for a while that fits the theme, or is improved by the theme. I have re-made Galcon many times, so when the theme “Swarms” came up, I couldn’t come up with any new game ideas, and I thought, “Hey, I haven’t re-made Galcon in at least 5 years! Maybe I’ll do that for this contest.”

Q: What advice would you give independent game developers?
If you are doing it as a hobby, I’d suggest keep doing the game compos (LD, PyWeek, etc) until you strike on a really good idea. Worked for me, anyway. Don’t bother with enormous MMO plans, those never seem to go anywhere.

Q: What are some of your favorite games out there today, independent or otherwise?
I enjoyed playing the new Tales of Monkey Island game. To be honest though, I don’t play too many games — too busy makin’ em 🙂

Q: What questions do you always wish interviewers would ask, and never do? How would you answer them?
Q: Can you tell us more about your goat Cuzco?

Cuzco is a spectacular beast, he pulls cart .. and everything!
http://www.imitationpickles.org/campaign/
http://www.imitationpickles.org/gallery/1078007026

Q: What plans do you have for the future?
Make more games, of course!

Q: Last remarks?
Buy Galcon! www.galcon.com

Thank you for your time.
Cheerio!

Categories: Games, Interviews, Links Tags: , ,
  1. July 25, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Otay, two things. 3.5 years ago? My how time flies! I totally remember “swarm” theme LD48 (I made Miracle Bees) and I just can’t believe it was that long ago. Yikes.

    Second: Phil has a GOAT?

  1. January 4, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

