Home > Games, Rant > Going Downhill

Going Downhill

Yesterday I picked up some Halo 3 by Bungie again. I hadn’t played any Halo 3 for quite some time, so I thought I would give it a try, and see if they had added anything new, like new playlists, tweaked gameplay, and so on. They made some changes, but many players won’t like what they see.

Upon entering matchmaking, I found the choices of playlists significantly reduced from when I last played. The vast majority of selections are not available to me because I do not own all the DLC map packs; I have Cold Storage and Heroic map pack. Out of 4 ranked playlists, only 2 were available to me, and Team Slayer, probably the most popular one, was not one of them. Social playlists were even worse: I can only play 2 out of 7, and that means no Rumble Pit, Multi-Team, or Social Big Team. The Hardcore lists aren’t as big of a deal, but it’s worth mentioning that only 1 of  3 of them is available. That’s only 5/14 altogether. On the upside, once I got into a game, the gameplay was still alright, when it wasn’t laggy.

I don’t see anything wrong with having just a few exclusive playlists, to sweeten the deal for DLC owners, but this is way too much. Basically, Bungie just went ahead and crippled online multiplayer for people who don’t want to buy a bunch of extra DLC. There’s a very simple solution to this: make them optional. People should be able to play just about whatever they want, and if they have extra maps, great, use those too. Players shouldn’t have to pay extra just to play the game modes online that they expect to play anyway.

As always, feel free to comment.

Categories: Games, Rant Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

