Practice

December 16, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday, I was waiting here for something to happen, so I decided to make a game on a whim. Naturally, it wouldn’t be long before that thing happened, so I made the game in an hour and fifteen minutes. It’s essentially a text-based, turn-based wealth accumulation game, and as you can imagine, it’s not terribly complex. If you all really want to see it (doubtful), I may upload a copy for you.

TAWS Screenshot

Despite the simple nature of the game, I observed a few interesting concepts concerning game design as I put it together:

  • Gameplay Progression: I am unaccustomed to making turn-based games, having only made one other. I found that in developing such games, the developer must obviously allow the player to end his turn as he sees fit. However, there should be some discouragement from continuously ending the player’s turn until the best case scenario shows up.
  • Feature Creep: This game was intentionally left particularly simple, so that it could be picked up easily and played simply. It was actually designed as a “play-when-you’re-bored” game. There was always a temptation to add new features which, while perhaps adding to the gameplay, would have detracted from the simple nature, and in the worst case, prevent me from finishing it in time. Fortunately, I resisted, and now I can play this little game when I’m bored.
  • Simplistic Charm: Text based games still have some appeal, because of their simple nature. Arguably one of the easiest interfaces to pick up is typing a command, and then typing “help” if need be. It’s nice to snap back to, from our games filled with graphics, and it’s very easy to develop, of course.

Of course, it’s good practice too. Keeps your mind sharp.

  1. Andy
    December 17, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    It’d be good to see some screen shots on your blog of games you’ve written.

  2. December 17, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Agreed, I’ll see what I can do about that 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

