Home > Games, Reviews > The other Halo 3 post

The other Halo 3 post

October 19, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

OK, now that I’ve played some Halo 3 on XBox Live, I can say a few things about it. If you haven’t read my previous post on the Halo 3 campaign, you can read that here.

So, I’m all hooked up to the internet, and I hit Matchmaking in the Halo 3 menu. I choose a few options, and start the matchmaking process. In about 20-40 seconds, depending on how many people are on and such, I’m in a game with a set of fellow players. Furthermore, I can get a few more people on my XBox and we can all join the same Live game. Of course, the option is still open to setup games with friends.

There are many game modes, each with a few variations built in. Or, you can make your own game mode and play that way. All the old favorites are back, like Slayer, Oddball, Capture the Flag, Assault, and King of the Hill, but there are also new game types like Zombies (all with variations).

Now I’m in the game. The weapon balance is good, once you know what weapons do what; not too hard if you’ve played the previous Halo games. The weapon you start with by default isn’t weak to the point where you can’t kill some enemies, but you can find better if you look around. Again, they fixed the problems that plagued Halo 2, and instead of adding gimmicks to Halo 3, they polished it, added new weapons and features, and tweaked the weapon balance. I like how it turned out.

All of the maps in Halo 3 are full of detail, and the multiplayer maps are no exception. But how do they play? Of the maps I’ve played, the map construction and flow is good. Always a choice to move another direction, adopt a new strategy or wait around the corner with a powerful weapon. Ouch.

One thing I didn’t mention in the other Halo 3 post is the music. It’s excellent. Marty O’Donnell has outdone himself again, improving on previous themes and adding some new ones.

And what’s a review without a screenshot?

Nice moves.

If you don’t see me posting on here for a while, it may be because of two things, and one is Halo 3. The other is my ongoing programming, the results of which I’ll post on when there’s something worth posting. I promise.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

